The Mairtín Crawford Award

The Belfast Book Festival is proud to present the annual Mairtín Crawford Awards for Poetry and for Short Story 2019.   

The Awards are aimed at writers working towards their first full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel. Both published and unpublished writers are invited to submit between 3-5 poems for the poetry award, and a short story of up to 2,500 words for the short story award, with the only stipulation being that they have not yet published a full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel.

The deadline for submissions is midnight May 1st 2019.

The winner of each award will receive a cash prize of £500 and a three-night stay at Co Down writing retreat, The River Mill. The winning writers will also receive advice from editors of The Tangerine to work towards publication in the magazine. The prize winners will also be invited to read at the award ceremony at the Belfast Book Festival 2019.

The judging panel for The Mairtín Crawford Poetry Award will be headed by Mairtín's friend and contemporary, renowned poet Moyra Donaldson along with esteemed poets Paul Maddern and Matt Kirkham. The Mairtín Crawford Short Story Award will be judged by Belfast-based short story writer Wendy Erskine.

To make a submission you must: 

  • Pay a submission fee online or by calling the box office to receive your order number
  • Submit your entry and quote your order number in the subject line of the email, or in the covering letter of a postal submission

For more information or to submit your fee today, click here: 

Stay in the loop with The Crescent

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join crescent arts center on facebook join crescent arts center on twitter join crescent arts center on instagram